WHL Schedule & Special Events


The WHL schedule helps prepare players for the demands of professional hockey while also offering sufficient time to maintain regular attendance at school. For the full 2018-19 WHL Regular Season Schedule, please visit the link below:


2018-19 WHL Regular Season Schedule 


September 21  WHL Regular Season begins

November 5-6  CIBC Canada-Russia Series ( Host Cities Include – Kamloops, BC & Vancouver, BC)

January 10  WHL Trade Deadline

January 23  Sherwin Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game (Red Deer, AB)

March 22  Start of WHL Playoffs

May 3  WHL Bantam Draft (Calgary, AB)

May 16–26  Memorial Cup Presented by KIA (Halifax, NS)


The CIBC Canada/Russia Series is a six game event in cities across Canada which features regional teams of CHL All-Stars competing against the Russian National Junior Team. As part of the annual series, Team WHL plays two games against the Russian National Junior Team. Since 2003 the CHL holds a 57-21-6 record versus Team Russia, however the Russians have captured the Series title in three of the past seven years (2010, 2012, and 2014).

In 2015, Western Hockey League stars such as, Joe Hicketts (Victoria Royals), Nolan Patrick (Brandon Wheat Kings), Jake Bean (Calgary Hitmen), Mathew Barzal (Seattle Thunderbirds), and Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips) all played for Team WHL.

In 2016, the Western Hockey League featured players such as, Sam Steel (Regina Pats), Nolan Patrick (Brandon Wheat Kings), Kale Clague (Portland Winterhawks), and Cal Foote (Kelowna Rockets), all played for Team WHL.

In 2017, Western Hockey League stars such as Dillon Dubé (Kelowna Rockets), Tyler Steenbergen (Swift Current Broncos), Brett Howden (Moose Jaw Warriors) and Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips) all suited up for Team WHL

The 2018 CIBC CHL Canada/Russia Series will take place in Kamloops, BC on November 5th, 2018 at the Sandman Centre, and November 6th, 2018 in Vancouver, BC at the Langley Events Centre.


The Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects game provides fans and NHL scouts the opportunity to watch the top 40 CHL prospects eligible for the NHL Entry Draft, held annually in June.

The 2016 CHL / NHL Top Prospects game featured 12 WHL players that were eligible for the upcoming NHL Draft, including Jake Bean (Calgary Hitmen), Kale Clague (Brandon Wheat Kings), Brett Howden (Moose Jaw Warriors), Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips), and Sam Steel (Regina Pats).

The 2017 CHL / NHL Top Prospects game featured 14 WHL players that were all selected  in the 2017 NHL Entry Draft including, Nolan Patrick (Brandon Wheat Kings/2nd overall pick to the Philadelphia Flyers), Cody Glass (Portland Winterhawks /6th overall pick to the Vegas Golden Knights), Cal Foote (Kelowna Rockets /14th overall pick to the Tampa Bay Lightning), and Kole Lind (Kelowna Rockets/33rd overall to the Vancouver Canucks).

The 2018 CHL / NHL Top Prospects game featured nine WHL players that were eligible for the upcoming NHL Draft, including, Ty Smith (Spokane Chiefs/17th overall pick to the New Jersey Devils), Alexander Alexeyev (Red Deer Rebels/31st overall pick to the Washington Capitals) and Jet Woo (Moose Jaw Warriors/37th overall pick to the Vancouver Canucks).

The 2019 CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game will be held in Red Deer, AB at the ENMAX Centrium on January 23rd, 2019.

MEMORIAL CUP Presented by KIA – 

The Memorial Cup, one of the most prestigious and coveted trophies in North American sport, has a rich tradition that has shaped the way junior hockey is played in North America. The trophy was originally known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association in March, 1919, in remembrance of the many soldiers who paid the supreme sacrifice for Canada in The First World War. In 2010 the Memorial Cup was rededicated to the memory of all fallen Canadian Military Personnel.

Initially the Cup was awarded to the National Junior Hockey Champions of Canada. Later on it came to signify Junior “A” hockey supremacy when in 1934, junior hockey in Canada was divided into “A” and “B” classes. In 1971, when junior “A” hockey was divided into major junior and Tier 11 junior A, the Memorial Cup was awarded to the higher category and was given to the major junior hockey champions of Canada. In 1972, a round-robin tournament format replaced the old play-down system to determine the champions. Since then, the champions of the Western Hockey League, the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Ontario Hockey League, have met each spring in a round-robin series with the two top teams playing off in a sudden-death game to determine the Cup champions.

The Memorial Cup became an international trophy in 1983 as the tournament was held outside Canada for the first time, when the Portland Memorial Coliseum was the host arena. The hometown Winter Hawks took home the title that year to become the first non-Canadian based team to win the Memorial Cup. Portland again hosted the tournament in 1986 and Seattle played host in 1992. In 1991, the Spokane Chiefs of the Western Hockey League became the second U.S. based team to claim the title. The Chiefs won the title again in 2008 in Kitchener, ON.

In the last 44 tournaments since the round-robin format was established, Western Hockey League teams have won the title 18 times, Ontario Hockey League teams have claimed 17 titles and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League teams have won the title 10 times.

The 2019 Memorial Cup Presented by KIA will be held in Halifax, NS at the Scotiabank Center from May 16th – 26th, 2019.