Dallas Saunders Memorial Tournament Kicks Off In Abbotsford, BC

Abbotsford, BC – The 37th Annual Dallas Saunders Memorial Tournament takes center stage in Abbotsford, BC February 10-1th for one of the final marquee tournaments of the hockey calendar before league playoffs and provincial events get underway.

The Dallas Saunders Memorial Tournament is held in honor of Dallas Saunders, a young man who lost his life in 1996 after blocking a slap shot during a Bantam AAA game. Dallas was recognized as a student of the game and dreamed of pursuing a professional career in hockey. Since then,  the number “5” has been retired forever in Abbotsford in the memory of the local athlete.

This years tournament will feature 16 teams, split between 4 competitive 4 team pools.

Pool A

Abbotsford Hawks (9-11-0) North Vancouver (13-0-1)  North Delta (9-10-1) Idaho Jr. Steelheads (21-3-0)

Pool B

Chilliwack Bruins (7-9-4) Thompson Blazers (14-2-1) Seafair Islanders (19-1-0) Hockey Yukon

Pool C

Delta Academy Varsity (23-4-1) Cloverdale Colts (9-9-2) West Vancouver Varsity (20-7-2) NSWC Winterhawks (10-6-4)

Pool D

Coquitlam Chiefs (9-9-2) Mission Stars (11-7-2) Prince George Jr. Cougars (12-5-2) Seattle Jr. Admirals (25-12-4)


Opening ceremonies occur on Saturday at 2:15 p.m. at MSA, with the presentation of the individual Dallas Saunders memorial trophy before Abbotsford’s game against North Vancouver.

For more information on the Dallas Saunders Memorial, visit

More News
Registration now open for the 2019 Hockey Alberta / WHL Skills Camp
6 days ago
T-Birds Sign Brendan Williamson
6 days ago
Team BC ready for the 2019 Canada Winter Games
2 weeks ago
2019 WHL U.S. Prospects Camp now accepting applications
2 weeks ago
Nate Danielson Named WHL AMBHL Prospect of the Month
2 weeks ago
WHL Prospect Profile: Central Division
3 weeks ago